4 Speed Gearbox - Early vs Late difference?

PostPost by: AHM » Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:13 am

Hi All,

I'm now starting work on the mechanical bits (which I find mored enjoyable than bodywork).

I have an early '69 S4 with a 4 speed gearbox. It does have the tag but not with me at the moment. As far as I can gather there is an early and late version of the box with the change in 1969.

My first question is how do I tell if I have the early or late box?

I believe the differences are in the Synchro hubs and baulk rings - Are all the other parts interchangeable?

Does anyone know what the detailed technical differences are? (I'm an interested engineer!)

I have searched the archive, I felt sure there would be someting on this subject but couldn't find it.

Thanks,

Simon
AHM
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: paddy » Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:37 am

Any useful info in here:

elan-f15/rail-gearbox-t17826.html

?

Paddy
1963 Elan S1
paddy
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: garyeanderson » Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:20 pm

Its been some time since I had all of the parts spread out on the counter but I found these baulk rings this morning and they tell you a lot about what you have. If no one has been messing with the box in the past then this should be mostly true. Baulk rings and baulk ring hubs are matched, early with early and late with late. You can swap matched pairs (hubs and rings) and they will work in late or early. Mostly the late boxes have a snap ring and the early have a draw nut. There are differences in the draw nut ones too so that is why I highly recomend the Dave Bean and other Ford manuals.

The baulk ring on the left is an early and the one on the right is from a snap ring (late) box. These hints will help until you get a Bean catalog :D
garyeanderson
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: AHM » Tue Nov 02, 2010 3:13 pm

My gerabox has a nut on the mainshaft so i conclude it is the earlier type.