best garage lift

PostPost by: rdssdi » Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:54 am

My new garage is nearing completion. It is 40 feet by 32 feet with three garage doors. The center door being the widest at 11 feet. That way I can park my car trailer in the garage.

I would like to install a lift. For storage and maintenance. How well will the 4 post residential lifts work for auto maintenance?

Here in the U.S. they offer them with 120 volt single Ph. 60 hz. or 240 volt single Ph. 60 hz. motors. Which would be preferable?

Which lift design would be most flexible for both storage and maintenance in a home garage. I see many have cable mechanisms to lift the ramp. Are any screw jacks? Is one preferred over the other?

I have no experience with home lifts and am totally in the dark.

Thanks

Bob
rdssdi
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: gjz30075 » Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:20 pm

Bob, everything you wanted to know about lifts to make an informed decision is found here. A search will give you a day's worth of reading.,
http://www.garagejournal.com/forum/

I'm also anxious to hear from Elan owners on this.

Greg Z
Greg Z
45/0243K Sprint
45/7286 S3 SE DHC
gjz30075
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: martinbrowning » Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:03 pm

Bob,

I have a 30ft by 20ft garage with 2 bays.One bay is fitted with a four post hydraulic lift which I bought from a local commercial garage that was selling up. (cost me ?500 three years ago which included it being dismantled,transported and reassembled in my garage). The motor is 3 phase and I bought a single to three phase converter. (?300).

The lift also came with two steel beams which can be inserted into the ends once the car has been driven onto the platform.This allows the lift to be raised and then,by engaging the locks, the platform can be lowered, leaving the car suspended in mid air (It allows all wheel and suspension work to be carried out).