Dellorto advice

PostPost by: frogeyesimon » Sat Oct 04, 2014 4:38 pm

I'm new to my Plus 2 and also to Dellortos.

My car has been laid up for 7 years or so and has only recently been returned to the road. Having had a lot of bother with crud in the fuel line, I now find that I seem to be running on only 1 carb (i.e.2 cylinders) - not good.
I have DHLA 45s fitted, and whilst idling, my front carb (the apparent non-functioning one), dribbles a steady stream of fuel into the venturis (both barrels). A puddle forms in the choke and clearly the front 2 cylinders are running so rich that the plugs foul up and no combustion takes place.

Needle valves seem to have black rubber tips and small springs, and from what I can see seem to be functioning ok (though it's hard to tell)

I'm guessing that it would be wise anyway to rebuild both carbs with new seals, needle valves etc. I have read that this is sometimes symptomatic of corrosion in the bodies, but I can see no evidence to suggest that this is the case here.

Is there anything else that I should be checking?

Thanks in advance
Simon
==================
1968 +2S 130 50/1189
1959 Frogeye Sprite
frogeyesimon
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: Esprit2 » Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:12 pm

Simon,

First, never look down the throats of a carb on a running engine !! Any spit-back or backfire is going to blow a flame into your eyes/ face. If you must look into the throats, wear eye protection, then position your head off to the side and use a mirror to look down the throats.

If the carbs have sat around without running for many years, then yes, it's probably a good idea to clean and rebuild them both. Seals and rubber bits perish over time, especially when they sit dry. Also, if they were full of fuel when they were set aside, then there are most likely some varnish deposits in internal orifices and passageways that need to be cleaned out.

*~*~*