Hood rear window replacement

PostPost by: oldelanman » Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:40 am

Anyone tried doing this themselves ?
My hood is in good condition apart from the rear windows which are completely opaque and need replacing. The cost of having it done professionally is probably not much less than a new hood so is it worth trying a DIY repair or would it be a waste of time and effort ?
Any thoughts ?
Thanks.
Roger
S4 DHC
oldelanman
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Barney » Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:12 pm

I have no experience but people keep saying that you can polish anything. Can't see why soft plastic shouldn't be possible given the right polishing medium.
Elan S2 DHC (26-4399),
Barney
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: ericbushby » Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:20 pm

Renovo sell a polish for cloudy plastic rear windows, but I have not tried it. Buy a bottle and try it and then we will all know if it works.
Eric in Burnley
1967 S3SE DHC
ericbushby
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: oldelanman » Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:52 am

Thanks gents.
I have tried the polish and it didn't work at all. May be effective on very light clouding but my windows are too far gone so I think replacement or a new hood are my only options now.
Roger
S4 DHC
oldelanman
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Mazzini » Thu Oct 18, 2018 8:09 am

Funny that, I bought some off eBay, can't remember the name of the brand, but it worked quite well. I guess it depends on the type of plastic and what caused the cloudiness.
Mazzini
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: gauntt » Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:52 am