Spraying Advice

PostPost by: Concrete-crusher » Sun Jul 05, 2015 1:55 pm

Hi I have sprayed my bonnet for the 1st time using cellulose filler primer on an isolating coat.

Its my first time with a spray gun rather than cans so I'm learning as I go.

I have attached a video to this link

https://www.dropbox.com/s/630bn9cq074bm ... d.m4v?dl=0

and would welcome knowing where I have gone wrong. The end result had some runs , so before i rub it back and do it again , id like to understand this abit more.

I used 30psi , and thinned the primer/filler with 20% thinners as per the manufactuers instructions.

I set the gun to produce a nice rugby ball type pattern before starting.

Thanks Steve
Concrete-crusher
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: Bud English » Sun Jul 05, 2015 3:40 pm

Coincidentally, I've asked Randy (Sea Ranch) to PM me with information or to start a thread on his use of a spray primer mentioned in a recent post. I thought a thread on home resprays would be well received by some of us DIY folks. Now here you've started one. Thanks for that. I'm looking forward any info provided by those that have successfully tackled this on their own as well. There may be more than a few of us interested.
Bud
1970 +2S Fed 0053N
"Winnemucca - says it all really!!"
Bud English
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Concrete-crusher » Sun Jul 05, 2015 3:52 pm

Ok 6 hours later and the bonnet looks much better as its dried out completely , and it's really just one run on top. See picture.

I'm wondering if I should have allowed more paint to flow and sprayed faster ?

Or should it have been less paint and slower ?

Btw cellulose paint in the UK is restricted to classic car use now , lucky me :D

It will be interesting to see what others think.

Steve
Attachments
image.jpg and
Concrete-crusher
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: Grizzly » Sun Jul 05, 2015 6:19 pm