Elan Identity ...

PostPost by: FOREIGNER » Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:53 pm

Hi everyone ...
I'm a newbie here ...and I 'm searching for some details about a S1 or S2 Elan
Found as a "puzzle" with a non original chassis ...and no numbers nowhere ...but in one place ..
On the back of the dashboard , there is a number stamped " 1745" ...
Is there someone here knowing about 1745 ???
Could it be his original chassis number ?

Thanks to you all :D
FOREIGNER
New-tral

PostPost by: garyeanderson » Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:12 pm

Any pictures?

Gary
Last edited by Guest on Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
garyeanderson
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: bilcoh » Tue Sep 13, 2011 8:13 pm

Is it correct that if you had the original engine, you might be able to back into the chassis number that way? Tim, are you able to look up a chassis based on engine number? Just a thought.

Dave
Dave
'66 Elan S2 - 26/4378
bilcoh
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: trw99 » Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:57 am

Yes, an engine no on it's own would give an indication, provided of course it came out of an Elan in the first place. On an S1 or 2 the number you have Jonny may be either a unit no or a body no

Tim
trw99
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Lotus14S2 » Wed Sep 14, 2011 7:52 pm

It would be odd if the instrument panel would be "stamped" with a number that related to the chassis.
Most of the cars I've seen, S1 or S2, that had any numbers were marked with something like a grease pencil, or paint, and would be found inside doors, or under the floor material, and other places about the body.
The number 1745 doesn't seem to match up with a chassis number, which would more likely be a 3XXX number, unless it was one of the first 70 or so cars, and then the numbers were either one to three digits.