North Yorkshire Sprint FHC Rebuild

PostPost by: silverlink » Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:17 pm

Hi all,
This is my first attempt on here with pictures so here goes, This is my Sprint FHC which I have only owned for the past 41 years! I have for far to long been trying to restore it but after a few problems especially with the paintwork I lost confidence in it and pushed it to the back of the garage and put a cover over it.
Now after many years my two daughters have made me see sense and get it back on the road. I did manage to rebuild most of the chassis and re-trim the interior but I have found quite a few gel cracks have appeared and therefor have decided to send the car to SMS at Spalding for it to be sorted.
Front in garage A Mod. jpg.jpg and

Rear A Mod.jpg and

The chassis has had every nut and bolt replaced and many bits powder coated, most non stressed nuts and bolts have been replaced with stainless ones. The brake pipes, fuel line, clutch pipe and oil pressure pipe are made from Aeroquip Stainless with all stainless connectors. These were made up specially for me by Banks Service Station in Southport.
I replaced the fuel tank many years ago with a Spyder aluminium one after the usual rusty bottom of the original started to leak.
I will post more information on my restoration shortly.
Thanks
Ian
silverlink
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: elansprint71 » Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:27 pm

Good to see another one coming back together!
elansprint71
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Mazzini » Sun Feb 02, 2014 9:22 pm

Looks like a great job - well done :D
Mazzini
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: pharriso » Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:14 pm

Absolutely lovely! Only the 2nd full Pistachio Sprint FHC that I've seen :-)

It will be a joy to have back on the road.
Phil Harrison
1972 Elan Sprint 0260K
pharriso
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: AndrewP » Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:29 am

Ian

Well done, top colour.