What's wrong with the term 'Baby Elan' ?

PostPost by: stevebroad » Tue Jun 12, 2012 11:34 am

I have been calling my Elan a baby for the last 30-35 years as it differentiates it from the Plus 2 and this has worked very well.

However, I have just noticed that a member has the tag line:

Founding member of the society to eradicate the use of the term B*by Elan by those who really ought to know better :)

Are there many members of this society and, if so, could you please explain the reasoning behind the dislike and what I ought to know better? :-)

The Plus 2 is bigger than the original Elan so is its big brother and therefore the Elan is the Plus 2's baby brother.

I am not upset and this isn't a rant, just interested in whether I am in the minority in being happy calling my car a baby Elan?
stevebroad
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: Tonyw » Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:35 pm

Steve,

I think the notion is that the Elan came first and the +2 and FHC's came later so they are the "Baby" Elans whereas the Elan is the big brother albeit a smaller car. The baby cannot be older than the rest of the family so the Elan cannot be the baby............I do wish that Monty Python could take over right now.....

Tonyw
Second childhood? no just an extension of my first.
Tonyw
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: nebogipfel » Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:42 pm

John

No longer active on here, I value my privacy.
nebogipfel
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: LotusElan+217 » Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:51 pm

I bought my first Lotus in 1977, a 1969 Elan +2, since the +2 came out in 1967 everyone, and I mean everyone from the punters in the street to the management of Lotus, referred to the Elan as the Baby Elan to differentiate from the larger brother.