2018 Tires for an S3 Coupe?

PostPost by: billmoore42 » Fri May 18, 2018 11:39 pm

I am new to the Elan world having just purchased a 67 FHC Coupe. It currently has 155R13 tires on it, and I want to stick to this size, but cannot find new performance tires in this size.

It currently has Vrdestein Sprint + T80 155 R13 tires on it that are hardly worn, but they are 12 years old, and no longer made. Should I just run the old tires and not worry about blowouts, or does anyone have any suggestions for a tire I can buy right now that duplicates this wonderful handling feel?

Thanks for any comments on tires that
1967 Lotus Elan FHC Spyder Chassis
1972 MGB (since 1975)
billmoore42
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: LI-599 » Sat May 19, 2018 6:03 am

My serious advice is to purchase new tires as yours will be quite hard and have unreliable grip in the wet. It is not a nice feeling to swap ends on a bend in the road. I had a terrible few years and only 8000mls on new XM1 michies, now using Yokohama Bluearth which are half the price and much better handling. I don?t think there are any performance tires in these sizes.
Happy motoring
Ian(Australia)
LI-599
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: gherlt » Sat May 19, 2018 6:25 am

What do you mean with "that duplicates this wonderful handling feel " ? The current feel with old tyres ?

I do not think the old tyres will blowout, at least at the speeds you are allowed to. But certainly you will run out of tarmac or breaking space at the sligthest sight of water.

I haven't tested them yet, but I bought the Falken Sincera SN832,
acoording to these (the german autromobil club)
https://www.adac.de/infotestrat/tests/r ... 5_R14.aspx
they are the best in wet and dry conditions, also in line with Semperit Comfort-Life 2 and Continental ContiPremiumContact 5. Only drawbacks are noise and/or wear, which I really do not care.

The Falken is available in 155. I am not sure about the others.
1964 S1 (at paint shop)
1967 S3 DHC