wheel spinners and nuts

PostPost by: bob_rich » Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:29 pm

Hi Folks

My +2S December 1973 model has Alloy wheels that I think are the original style ( picture attached) They use the large hexagonal nuts to hold the wheels on. I have a set of 3 pointed spinners and while they seem to fit I am told the angle of the taper that seats into the wheel is different for alloy or steel wheels.

Has anyone got info on the correct shape of the nuts /spinners for correct seating with the alloy wheels?

thanks in advance for any info or help

Bob
Attachments
+2S wheel.png
+2S wheel.png (85.82 KiB) Viewed 1268 times
bob_rich
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: ricarbo » Wed Feb 05, 2014 8:04 pm

I seem to remember attending a Club Lotus meeting at which the late Graham Arnold warned that the spinners had different angles and were not interchangeable, but I have no personal knowledge of the details. Surely it's not too difficult to measure the two sets of spinners you have?
I believe the octagonal or hexagonal nuts were introduced as a safety measure. The eared spinners are a bit reminiscent of Boadicea's chariot.
regards
Richard
ricarbo
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: rfurzer » Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:39 pm

My 1973 plus two could be your twin - same colour and wheels. Here in Australia we didn't change to the wussy federal specs and so have the Bodicea spinners on those same wheels (as well as the Italian polar bear killing carburettors).

The steel wheels and alloys I believe are different, but if your eared spinners are for the alloys then they should work.

Russ
rfurzer
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: oldchieft » Thu Feb 06, 2014 2:36 am

if you can't tell by looking then use engineers blue to check the seating and fit of matting parts

Jon the Chief
oldchieft
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: elj221c » Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:08 pm

Discussed here at length although I don't remember what the conclusion was!