Are Elans Just Hot!

PostPost by: terryp » Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:19 pm

Hello
Having owned a couple of +2's I cannot get over how much hotter the Elan feels. I would have never thought heat was a problem on the +2 but the Elan seems to virtually glow after a run. I open the bonnet just to let some get out.
I have checked the actual engine temperature and everything is cool or the correct temperature. I have a 71 degree theromostat and Clive's twin fan set up. Timing is fine. I do have a cast iron manifold.
The location of the exhaust and because its a LHD seem to make everything hot under the driving seat.
I still have my Clutch problem albeit that it is slightly better and will change to DOT 3 fluid later this week.
I just wondered whether anyone else has had this and were there any easy fixes.

Thanks

Terry
terryp
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: gjz30075 » Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:52 pm

Are you referring to cockpit heat? I found my Miata much hotter inside than the Elan.

Greg Z
Greg Z
45/0243K Sprint
45/7286 S3 SE DHC
gjz30075
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: terryp » Mon Sep 15, 2014 1:08 pm

Really yes but also a glowing engine bay!
terryp
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: collins_dan » Mon Sep 15, 2014 1:18 pm

Is your fan on the front or back of radiator? I switched mine to the back for a time and found that it made the car interior hot. The engine bay does get quite hot. I've used a laser temperature gun to check temperature throughout the compartment, and it is primarily the exhaust manifold that is throwing off the heat. I have ceramic coating it, but it is still hot in there. Dan
collins_dan
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: terryp » Mon Sep 15, 2014 1:23 pm

Dan
Fan is on the engine side , I also have the foam over the top of the radiator.

Terry
terryp
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: collins_dan » Mon Sep 15, 2014 2:02 pm