Coolant in sump problem

PostPost by: Andygoldsmith » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:41 am

Help please, I am fairly new to Lotus Elans, and the twin cam engine, although I have owned Sixties cars in one form or another for over 30 years. I purchased a Series 3 Elan about 6 months ago. The car is very original and in good condition for its age. Someone has spent a lot of time and money on it in the past. There is only 39k on the clock and it had been in dry store for the best part of 20 years before i purchased it. The engine was running roughly when viewed it but it didn't appear to need more than a tune up. However when I got it home it became obvious that coolant was getting into the sump because there was significant water vapour coming out the engine breather and the sump level had risen. I checked whether any water was getting into the cylinders, these were dry.

So I took the head off to investigate further. The head gasket was quite new but intact, although there was some marking of the gasket surface which suggested that water may have been finding its way into the oil ways. It didn't appear to have been coated with the correct gasket sealant. I thoroughly checked the head and the block - both have completely flat surfaces and there is no corrosion damage. In fact it looks like the engine has recently been rebuilt and therefore in good condition.

Cutting a long story short I bolted the head back on, new gasket and bolts, correct type of sealant and torque settings and tuned up the engine so that it was running sweetly. However the same original problem is evident, water in the sump and vapour at the breather when engine is hot. In fact I left the coolant system full and depressurised (cap off) whilst we went away on holiday for a couple of weeks and over this period the content of the cooling system ended up in the sump. There are no external water leaks and the water pump runs fine no bearing play and no rough running.