Quick engine removal and replace - Tips & Tricks (wanted)

PostPost by: terryp » Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:31 pm

OK depending on how the next few weeks go I may have to remove the engine to grease the main shaft splines and check the clutch, so not really a big job once the engine is out.
Has anyone any tips or tricks to make the in and out easy. I haven't done this before with the body on and I thought I would leave the gearbox in place due to height restrictions in my garage.
I had a Ginetta G15 for 17 years and use to take the engine and gearbox out in an hour or so and have it back in the same........ I don't think this will be as quick.
The car has federal cross over pipes, cast iron manifold, strombergs,

Thanks
Terry
terryp
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Elanconvert » Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:58 pm

hi terry
I'm new to elans, so can't give you any tips on engine removal.....however, from what I've read on this site, there are two camps [1] it's easier to take out engine and box in one go [2] it's no problem taking out the engine without the box......if I ever have to do 'engine out', I think I would probably opt for [1]
interesting to read about your G15 ownership...I've had mine for 40 years!!! :)

:D fred
'Never give up!....unless it's hopeless.....'

1970 S4 dhc big valve
1973 Ginetta G15
1967 Ginetta G4 [sadly now sold]
1959 lotus elite type 14
Elanconvert
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: terryp » Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:11 pm

Fred
I think that's because when you have a G15 you always take out the engine with the box :wink:
We're you in the GOC? I came to a few meetings with Mark S and exhibited the car at Brighton so was there with Steve F and Dr Rob G
I do seem to remember a Fred at Godstone once or twice?
I do regret selling mine but I do have a Caterham that takes my mind off it!
All the best
Terry
Last edited by terryp on Tue Apr 08, 2014 6:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
terryp
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear