Ammeter behaviour and readings

PostPost by: Tournesol » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:25 pm

Good evening All,

My car is positive earth and with Dynamo.

I've just replaced the regulator and dynamo as the ammeter was always showing in the negatives and battery was being discharged. All good now with showing strongly in the + with engine revving above 1500 which I trust is about right for a dynamo car.

Question I have is that running in town the ammeter goes from just in negative under iddle engine to almost up to 30 under revving with the needle moving around a lot. Is that normal behaviour?

Also am I right to assume that the battery is not getting a strong charge (if any at all) while driving in congested or slow traffic and that to achieve a good charge the car needs to be driven at a decent pace (not just reving the engine)?

As you gathered I am a total newbie..... but willing to learn... FAST! :)

Tournesol
PS: I've tried to search the archive for this but couldn't find anything, might need training on archive searching too!!
Tournesol
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: billwill » Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:11 am

The control box won't close its contacts until the dynamo is generating more volts than the current voltage of the battery, so at low revs you will see only the drain on the battery from the ignition circuit and any other active circuits eg lights, trafficators, horn, electric fuel pump if you have one.

When the revs are high enough for the dynamo to cut in, I would expect to see it charging the battery to replenish the power used in starting the car, this could be as high as about 30 amps briefly, but when the battery is reaching the fully charged condition the charging current will diminish to a trickle charge of about 1 or 2 amps, even at highish revs.

If it still shows a high current your battery is probably getting too old or your dynamo regulator needs re tuning.

All in my opinion of course... 8)