Is The Elan A Feasible Daily Drive?

PostPost by: Hotstonp » Mon Nov 22, 2004 12:49 pm

Hi Folks

I am new to the original Elans though I used to have an M100 S2.

I am thinking of getting an Elan DHC and using for my daily drive and also doing some Historic Road Rally. I am new to it all so would intend to take it easy for the the first year or so.

How realistic a view is this? I tend to do about 15k mile a year.

Any advice and points of view most welcome.

All the best
Peter
Hotstonp
New-tral

PostPost by: tdafforn » Mon Nov 22, 2004 1:05 pm

Hi Peter,
There certainly are people who use them as daily drives, and I think that given regular maintainance it shouldn't be too much problem. That is of course if you start with a good one. It has always seemed to me that a lot of the trouble people hear about old cars comes from "rolling restorations", which, by their nature, will breakdown.
Of course if you want a very reliable engine then you can always go with the Zetec conversion.
Good luck
Tim
1972 +2S130
tdafforn
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: simon.mitchell » Mon Nov 22, 2004 1:24 pm

Peter,

Having run old cars from the 50's and 60's as daily drivers up until last year I'd say that, provided that you start with a 'good' one', the maintenance won't really be an issue; it's mostly simple and fairly inexpensive. One of the biggest differences from a more modern car in my opinion is with the 'creature comforts' - such as heaters which take ages (by comparision) to clear the screen, draughty hoods, water getting into the car and so on. Not issues on weekend cars, but they'll soon get you down if you're using it every day!

I'd suggest a good soundproofing kit and a set of new doorseals would be a good starting point, plus a weekend spent curing any leaks to keep the rain out!

Go for it!
Simon
simon.mitchell
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: Hotstonp » Mon Nov 22, 2004 3:01 pm

Hi Simon & Tim