Lotus Elan Sprint Coupe 1972

PostPost by: FunkyKen » Wed Jan 08, 2020 12:18 am

I am considering joining the ranks of ownership and have always found these cars desirable. But I am very new to the Lotus Elan Sprint. Can someone be kind enough to answer a few questions for me? I am considering purchasing a car at auction and am wondering what are top issues to look for. Sorry for the open ended question. Also, what is the difference between a 72 Elan Sprint Coupe and a 72 Elan Series 4 Coupe? The car I am considering is an original low mileage example of the Sprint Coupe made for the North American Market. Any insights are appreciated including reasonable price ranges. With great appreciation.
FunkyKen
New-tral

PostPost by: gjz30075 » Wed Jan 08, 2020 10:40 am

Excellent reading here:
http://www.lotuselansprint.com/
Greg Z
45/0243K Sprint
45/7286 S3 SE DHC
gjz30075
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: FunkyKen » Wed Jan 08, 2020 4:44 pm

Thank you for responding. I?ve scoured the site and it?s incredibly helpful. The car I?m considering is a federal 00 28J. I have a feeling it?s an S4 conversion. This site is indicating the first J series was 00 50 J. Also the car I?m considering has the bulge in the bonnet and silver wheels not black. It has a sunroof and I?m wondering if anyone can tell me if a sprint could be ordered with a sunroof or if it was an aftermarket addition? Thank you Ken
FunkyKen
New-tral

PostPost by: collins_dan » Wed Jan 08, 2020 5:13 pm