Elan S4 Saggind Doors

PostPost by: ianclarets » Thu Oct 28, 2004 8:05 am

HI CAN ANY BODY HELP PLEASE i am new to lotus owning and trying to find information on replacing/repairing the cup bobbin in the drivers door sill causing movement up/down in the door. on strip down on the door i have found that the cup bobbin is worn in the sill but thy nylon ball in good order. i know mick miller stocks the cup bobbins but not sure how to tackle the job in hand any advice please THANK YOU IAN
ianclarets
New-tral

PostPost by: types26/36 » Thu Oct 28, 2004 8:48 am

Ian,
Go on to the mailing list of elan.net and search the archives starting with message 21441 this has been discussed a few times.
Brian
Brian
64 S2 Roadster
72 Sprint FHC
types26/36
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: worzel » Thu Oct 28, 2004 9:00 am

Hi

I can only tell you how I tackled this- others may disagree with my approach.

Since you have to cut out the worn bobbin you need to ensure that the replacement ends up where the original is. I simply stuck masking tape on 4 sides of the bobbin and drew a line along the vertical and one on the horizontal- the cross ending up exactly in the middle of the bobbin.

Cut out the bobbin and clean up the underside of the sill to give a good key for the fibreglass. Feather out the edges of the hole on the upper surface for about one inch or so. What I did next was to take the new bobbin and laminate a collar of fibreglass about one eigth inch thick all round it to give something to sit against the underside of the sill.

Next I used fibreglass bridging compound (you have to be quick using this because it sets rapidly in warm temperatures), applied a skim under the sill, spread a thickish layer over the upper surface of the "collar" of fibreglass on the bobbin and using a suitable wedge under it held it in the correct position with reference to the masking tape.