Painting Question

PostPost by: simon.mitchell » Sun Jul 11, 2004 6:37 pm

Just sprayed the first of the colour coats onto my Plus 2 today - looks pretty good too if a bit 'orange peely'. The question I have is how flat should I try to get the paint in between coats? Should I be aiming to make the finish as smooth as possible before applying the next coat - and if so what grade of wet & dry should I use - or should I put all of the paint on and then flat it down at the end?

Thanks
Simon
simon.mitchell
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: types26/36 » Sun Jul 11, 2004 8:52 pm

Simon,
I am no expert in body repairs although I have done my fair share over the years,
what I DO KNOW is spend AS MUTCH TIME ON THE PREPARATION as possible, the actual spraying accounts for probably 10% of the job and the more effort put into the preparation is the deceiding factor if the job ends up as excellent/good/fair or rubbish!
If you are not happy with the finish before final spraying you will NOT be with the final result, trying to cover pin holes/orange peel or any other imperfection with paint just does not work and you will reget it later, my advice is rub, fill, rub, fill and some! Rub down with 400 grit between coats and when you think you are ready for the final couple of coats use 1000/1500 grit, others may disagree but their choice.
Rgds Brian
Brian
64 S2 Roadster
72 Sprint FHC
types26/36
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: shiples » Mon Jul 12, 2004 4:20 am