Second Gear Problem

PostPost by: type26owner » Thu Dec 09, 2004 2:10 am

Since I've had a chance to get comfortable to the newly installed RE92 tires capabilities I've developed a new problem at modest speeds. Apparently these tires have enough lateral bite to cause the Webers to now fuel starve. This is getting really annoying now. Is there a cure to apply to the carbies to stop this effect? Help!
-Keith
type26owner
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: lotuselanman » Thu Dec 09, 2004 8:14 am

<_<
Gidday,
New one on me, suggest you check the float levels, max and minium.
See ya, Les
lotuselanman
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: type26owner » Thu Dec 09, 2004 4:10 pm

Guess it's time to call up Mike Pierce at Pierce Manifolds and have a technical chat about fuel starvation issues. I can't imagine this was never resolved but I'm a rookie and don't know squat about the different DCOE designs over the years. Hey, maybe it was not a problem since the tires at that time never allowed this starvation to happen ever on road cars.

Hi Les, didya know you can check the fuel level in the 'wells' while the engine is idling using a custom made pipette? Awhile back I've posted here lots of technical info on Weber tuning which is not in any of the books and covered that very subject.

Just about to go into another tuning/learning phase to map out the affect of two-phase flow across the main jet/air corrector matrix. Should be able to take slow motion movies of the two-phase flow happening in my transparent testing well and post a link to it so everyone can see how the carbie actually works. Will try to do this over my Xmas break.

-Keith
type26owner
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: type26owner » Thu Dec 09, 2004 8:28 pm