Is this Rotoflex coupling bad?

PostPost by: MrBonus » Tue Nov 06, 2018 7:17 pm

I'm still learning my car so I apologize for all the stupid questions. I noticed these microfractures in the rubber donut on one side (it looks like the other side was changed at some point while this one was not).

If it requires replacement, I would go to a full CV joint conversion as sold by RDent.

Thoughts?

1967 Lotus Elan Coupe - Super Safety
2019 Tesla Model 3 Performance
1973 Ford F100 4x4
MrBonus
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: tedtaylor » Tue Nov 06, 2018 7:56 pm

you'll get 100 different opinions on this. I'm sure the consensus will lean toward "better safe than sorry" and urge you to replace, but in reality, looks to me like plenty of life left. a lot depends upon your driving style. If you're competitive, it will strain those couplings to their max. If you're relaxed driving, then less so.
Micro-fractures, as you describe, are the natural drying out of the rubber and to be expected since they are probably just on the surface. i'd be more concerned about deep fractures or separation, then you've got a ticking time bomb. There's a post elsewhere on the forum that shows an actual broken through donut that was in regular use and only just now replaced. since they are bolted in six places (3 on each direction), then the entire integrity of the donut is being used as a whole. All this to say, i'd continue driving and just check them regularly and monitor for further degradation.
now i'll let the others chime in... :)
TED
"Driving a Lotus is a triumph of bravery over intelligence." Stirling Moss
"TaylorMadeClassicCars" on WWW and Facebook
tedtaylor
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: MrBonus » Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:02 pm