Lotus Elan

help in New Zealand

PostPost by: street » Fri Feb 22, 2019 12:51 am

Whilst I am down as a newbie, i have actually been in the system to some 6 years, my father completed a ground up restoration of my +2 in 1989, i was given the car some 6 years ago, but emigrated to NZ and returned the car to my father, he has sadly passed away and car is on route to NZ. When it was in my possession the car (typically) ran very hot, I am toying with going for an oversized radiator, however in the interim was going to template around rad, does anyone know where i can find templates etc. I think Paul Matty? does the foam from bonnet to rad?

Thanks
street
New-tral

PostPost by: geni » Fri Feb 22, 2019 7:39 am

si cela t'intéresse je peu t'aider ,j'ai cela
geni
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: Chrispy » Sat Feb 23, 2019 12:49 am

Other things to check are the voltage regulator. If that is not working you will not get accurate temperature readings.

I'm sure ducting around the radiator would be beneficial, and I plan on making some for mine when the aircon goes in.
Chris
Elan +2 #0245
Exige S2 Supercharged
Chrispy
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: Elan45 » Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:07 am

Easiest thing to do would be to fit the S3 Elan, full width radiator. Easy bolt in job. and since it is a STANPART item, you might be able to source it from a Tiumph dealer.

Roger
'67 Elan S3 SS DHC
'67 Elan FHC pre-airflow
'67 Elan S3 SE upgrade to 26R by Original owner
'58 Eleven S2 (ex-works)
'62 20/22 FJ (ex-Yamura)
'70 Elan +2S RHD
'61 20 FJ project
'76 Modus M1 F3
Elan45
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: Mazzini » Sat Feb 23, 2019 7:47 am

I have a spare S3 full width rad. It's been re-cored and unused since. The top tank is a bit battered looking, but its sound.
Mazzini
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: street » Sat Feb 23, 2019 10:24 am

Could be keen what you after as I have to consider exchange rate and postage to nz
street
New-tral