sheared carb mounting stud

PostPost by: Dag-Navit » Sat Jan 02, 2010 3:47 pm

Ok, i knew better but sheared a carb mounting stud on my s4se LHD DH trying to back it out of the intake manifold (weber). Before i start drilling and extracting, anyone got advice/cautions for me before i make things worse possibly? Havng looked through the forums there seems to be a range of ideas. My thought is to drill out and try to remove the stud with an extractor (easyout) first, the stud sheard flush with the face of the manifold, so nothing to grip. For those that are curious, i am removing the body from the chasis with engine in, so need to remove the studs for clearance, would prefer not to remove the head, studs were replaced 20 years ago by yours truly without incident (could f sworn i used neversieze on them :( ). thanks.

JS
Dag-Navit
New-tral

PostPost by: csjohnson » Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:17 pm

I have never tried this on an intake manifold but I use to use this product when I worked as a machinist. IT is called Tap/Out. Basically the product is nitric acid. The Nitric acid will eat iron based metals but it will not eat aluminum. The product comes with clay to build a dam around the stud that is broken off. Fill with a small amount of the acid and sit and wait. Once the stud is gone add the base solution to neutralize the acid before cleanup.

Like I sad I have never used this on a lotus head or intake manifold but I have used it on aluminum and copper. It might be worth looking into.

Chris
csjohnson
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: oldelanman » Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:54 pm

On my stromberg head the studs go right through the flange and stick out about 6mm the other side. Don't know if your weber head is the same but if so you may be able to get hold of the other end and wind it out from the rear of the flange. Give it a good soak with penetrating oil first. If you do end up drilling it may still be easier to screw the bit out that way anyway.