Misab plates

PostPost by: jono » Tue May 08, 2018 9:51 am

I fitted some of these 4 years ago in place of the original alloy spacers with O rings.

I was surpised to find that they are quite badly cracked and degraded after only 11k miles. I was going to go back to the O rings and spacers but I could readily obtain Misab plates and they were cheap so what the hell!

Question - do I still need flexible mouting of the nuts with these or can I bolt them straight on, the assumption being that the Misab plate design provides all of the required 'flex' / anti foaming effect (which I've also heard tell is a myth)?

It was interesting tighetning them up (re using the rubber diablo mounts) to hear the engine note change when they were tightened further which made me think that thye need to be quite tight in order to form a proper seal.

Any observations welcomed

Jon
jono
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: MarkDa » Tue May 08, 2018 10:30 pm

I have no experience but read that rubber cup nuts needed as well.
Viz - at random
http://www.rallynuts.com/motorsport-web ... plate.html

Presumably these nuts provide the compliance that would other wise be provided by Thackeray washers?

As you say they're a much cheaper solution but I expect some are better quality than others.
Perhaps choose a supplier with a good reputation?
Last edited by MarkDa on Wed May 09, 2018 7:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
MarkDa
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Chrispy » Wed May 09, 2018 3:01 am

I'm about to remove my Misab plates and put on some new ally spacers with o-rings. I wanted it to look more correct and I feel (with no actual proof :lol:) that the spacers would provide some better isolation.
Chris
Elan +2 #0245
Exige S2 Supercharged
Chrispy
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: rgh0 » Wed May 09, 2018 12:16 pm