Car related things to do in Los Angeles, USA?

PostPost by: GreekS1 » Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:01 am

Hi,
Im going on a 3 week holiday on dec 16th to LA, Las Vegas and San Francisco.

I was wondering if there are any Lotus related events and/or any classic car related places in California that i should visit.

I already have:
Route 101
Laurel canyon
Shelby cars in Vegas

pls add!

Thank you
GreekS1
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: msd1107 » Mon Dec 15, 2008 8:33 am

There is the Peterson museum on Wilshire in LA.

Laurel Canyon is not that exciting for driving. For shopping, try Beverly Blvd, Rodeo Blvd in Beverly Hills, Farmers Market and others. I am not a shopping expert.

One of the original Lotus importers, Jay Chamberlain, had his shop just north of me, but it is gone. The Pasadena area Lotus Dealer who serviced JPL and other aerospace people is gone. Bob Challman's Ecuriee Shirlee in Manhattan Beach is a real estate office.

For driving, go to Griffith Park and take Mulholland west. It goes all the way to the Pacific, but there is one section that is gravel and may be closed. If so, you will have to come back to the 405, go north to the 101, west to Reseda or Topanga, and south again to Mulholland. On Mulholland west of Topanga, Take Stunt road and play around on the windey roads (as if Mulholland is not enough). This whole area is famous for West Coast drivers learning to drive fast back in the 50s and 60s, and I have many memories of that area.

Well, If you are driving north on 101, take the Cachuma bypass after Santa Barbara. It meets back up with 101, it is scenic, and 20 miles shorter than 101. And at that point there are lots of opportunities for winery side trips.

Then more wineries at Paso Robles. At Paso Robles, take Route 1 along the coast, the road winds and is scenic. Hearst Castle is along the way. There is an old California Mission around Paso Robles, and another one at Carmel.