Returned to the fold

PostPost by: daverubberduck » Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:35 pm

Hello All. This is a great website, everybody seems very friendly and helpful. About me, I bought my first Lotus in 1981. I was in Manchester at the time and used to drive down to Christopher Neil in Northwich and look at the cars. It was a great time. CN were in a kind of old warehouse with creaky wooden floors, and walking about look at Elans and Europas was very exciting. Then one day I traded my Fiesta for an Elan Sprint FHC. Had it for some years, then bought a Dino 246. Then a +2S/130 which I loved. Then Esprit Turbo. Then 308 GTB. Then stopped owning sports cars in 1995 ...until now. I've returned to the fold and bought a 1969 +2 which is in the process of being totally renovated, not by me though. I am an electronics engineer living in a lovely little town on the Essex coast. Quite preoccupied at the moment with trying to source parts and make decisions such as colour, alternator or dynamo, donuts or CVs etc etc. You all know how it is. At the moment I'm looking for a signed +2 steering wheel. I have got a 14" signed wheel from a baby Elan. If anyone has the larger signed wheel that they want to sell or trade for the 14" one then please get in touch. I realise I should probably put that last request in a different section of the forum, so I will do that. Cheers, Dave
daverubberduck
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: trw99 » Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:59 pm

Hi Dave and welcome.

I'm in Burnham most weekends racing; wondered if that is where you are? Also interested to know any details about your Sprint (see my web site below).

Glad you have come back to Elans.

Tim
trw99
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: Elanintheforest » Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:19 pm

Welcome, Dave. It must have ben hard to give up a 246, unless it needed a body restoration of course!