1969 Elan S4 SE

PostPost by: HampshireMush » Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:25 am

Hi all

I bought my S4 a couple of months ago now and am in the process of getting it sorted to how I would like it whilst keeping it as original as I can. The car was 'restored' about 24 years ago with a new Spyder chassis and the engine was rebuilt (rebore - crank reground and balanced etc by Oselli). Iit seems to have only done about 18K since then per all the old MOT's. It has been resprayed / colour changed in the more recent past from what was described on one MOT as Maroon to Lotus Yellow. When I bought it it was still registered as Red so had to get that changed with the new owner change.

Picture is of the car on the banking at Brooklands taken a few weeks ago (I am a retired engineer and work at the Museum as a Guide).

Elan @ Brooklands.jpg and

I want to thank everyone on this forum as I have already found it an invaluable source of advice and I have already used some of the advice to assist me in the work that I have done to date.

I am based in Camberley Surrey
John

1969 Elan S4 SE
HampshireMush
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: Elanconvert » Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:10 pm

hello mush!
welcome to the forum and the world of elan ownership!
I bought my s4 from a chap in woking last year, who is/was also connected to brooklands.....
my connection to the museum is a 1928 brooklands alvis which I believe is in the collection, owned by my old man in about 1946/7.......
the guys on here are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, and they helped me buy my elan....

:D fred
'Never give up!....unless it's hopeless.....'

1970 S4 dhc big valve
1973 Ginetta G15
1967 Ginetta G4 [sadly now sold]
1959 lotus elite type 14
Elanconvert
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: HampshireMush » Thu Jul 03, 2014 3:25 pm

Elanconvert

A bit off topic but thought you might like a few photos of your old man's Alvis.

It is currently in the workshop having the engine overhauled and some other bits done.