New Person

PostPost by: Rob LC » Tue Aug 18, 2015 7:05 pm

Hi all. I'm looking to store and restore a Lotus. Have looked around the range from Esprit, which are too costly. Love the look of the Elan and, with all due respect to the hardened people here, looks like a car I can take on. I'm a electrician by trade that also is in the construction game. As an 18 year old I invested a small fortune in Snap On tools ready for this moment. I'm 46 now. Have found a 1972 for sale. Pit falls etc please everyone. Love to keep a classic on the road in style. Thanks Rob
Rob LC
New-tral

PostPost by: ericbushby » Tue Aug 18, 2015 7:58 pm

Hello Rob and welcome.
You have come to the right place to find answers and solve snags.
I suggest that you join a suitable car club first and get to know the cars as much as you can before you decide what to buy.
For instance, Club Lotus hold meetings in Twyford on the second Monday of the month.
(other car clubs are available)
Look at every car that comes up for sale and remember there will be another along soon.
I looked at eight cars and it took me a year to find one that suited me.
Please let us know how you get on,
Eric in Burnley
1967 S3SE DHC( is anybody going to Tatton Park on Saturday. I will be at the Club Lotus stand.
ericbushby
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: greg40green » Tue Aug 18, 2015 8:49 pm

You mention Tatton Park is it this weekend or bank holiday weekend but more importantly how would I get my Elan on the Lotus show stand .
Thanks.
greg40green
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: dgym » Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:00 pm

Hello and Welcome Rob,
I'm a recently new owner (just over a year) and this Forum has been an invaluable resource.
May I suggest just having a bit of a random dig through the forum history and you will discover lots of issues that will arise and things to look out for when buying. (wish I'd done more of that)