Sprint Newbie - couple of basic questions

PostPost by: SprintingSophie » Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:35 am

Morning!

I'm a newbie owner of a wonderful red DHC Sprint, and am enjoying my journey on a steep Lotus and mechanical learning curve. I've had this 1971 beauty back on the road since early June, and we're getting to know each other well!!

There have been a few teething problems (after a 5 year long overhaul) but at the moment we are gliding along and enjoying the summer (Irish weather and roads permitting!). I have a couple of extremely basic general questions (no laughing please) which I thought I'd run by you all. I get lots of advise from all sorts of car buffs, but not everyone knows the specifics involved with a Sprint.

- Starting - I'm getting the car out 1-2 times a week and the more I drive it the better it definitely starts and goes. But starting first time round is tricky - does anyone have any tips for smoothing/easing the process, especially bearing in mind that cooler and damper weather is not far off? The car is kept in a garage and is never out in the rain.

- Recommended tyre pressure - is there a standard pressure? Or is this very specific to the tyres, roads and driving being done?

- Lead into petrol - I'm adding lead to the petrol as advised. Does anyone have any recommendations as to how much is enough and what's too much? I've received all sorts of suggestions to date! Is there a formula - X lead to Y litres of unleaded petrol?

- Oil - I have an amount of oil, and the car's running well on it. I'll have to get more soon and can purchase the same again (although I gather it's tricky to find), but I'm open to recommendations from those in the know.

As I say, I know these are Beginners 101 questions, but we all have to start somewhere - it's a whole new world!

Thank you in advance!

S
SprintingSophie
New-tral

PostPost by: mark030358 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 9:54 pm

Hi and welcome,
Tyres I run around 18 front 23 rear