Hello from Turin, Italy

PostPost by: alc 63 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:23 pm

Hello everyone,
I?m a seasoned Petrolhead from Turin, Italy.
I have the immense privilege of being Italian, living in Italy, having (still) a job and enjoying my life in this beautiful country. However, I feel European, as I got my MSc in the UK and travelled a lot for work and leisure within Europe, US and Canada, so I feel home in this international community.
Being the son of a Fiat Engineer, I lived within the car industry since infancy and cars are still my major passion. I?m particularly fond of rally cars with Fiat and Lancia being my favourite marquees, but I have a huge respect also for other rally-oriented manufacturers, such as Renault, Peugeot, Subaru, etc.
While living in the UK I got also very passionate for Lotus cars and Colin Chapman?s engineering concepts ? ?Less is more?, ?Add Lightness?, etc. I?m obsessed with weight-saving!
I own a 1995 Renault Clio Williams Phase II (a pure Rallye homologation special) and a 1998 red Fiat barchetta (tribute to my father, of course). Very diverse but hugely fun cars.
In the past I had for several years a BRG Lotus Elise S1. I sold it with few regrets due to the high running cost and the fact I never bond with the car. Unless you track it, she has little sense on our battered Italian road. And I love spirited driving on the open roads (especially in the Alps), not spinning on a track. That?s way I love rallies, after all.
So why am I here, especially as I don?t have an Elan? Well, being nearly 54 I?m in stage of my life where I?m realising I will not be able to enjoy a car like an Elan for longer. Also, the idea of buying, restoring, maintaining and driving an Elan is becoming an obsession, the real A Plan.
My dream Elan is a LHD Type 36 FHC, but I also adore early Type 26?s. I?m a bit colder to later 45?s instead, but Sprints are just fantastic.