Aspiring Lotus mechanic entering the chat!

PostPost by: guyatou » Fri Jul 21, 2023 2:10 am

Hello all!

I'm Michael, from Oklahoma, USA. I'm helping a buddy of mine, Neil, put together his 1967 Lotus Elan S3. I've dabbled in classic cars for years, but this is my first British car project -- I cut my teeth years ago on 1960s Datsun Roadster 2000s. So, of course I think the Lotus has one too many cams!

I've lurked on the forum for the past few months as I've made progress on identifying what parts we have, generally where they go and (frequently) what is missing. But the time has come to join the forum and hopefully learn the tricks and tips I'll need to put this car back on the road for the first time in decades.

Beyond being a shadetree classic car mechanic, I am a freelance writer (editorial and corporate branding and marketing) and photographer. I also buy and sell classic cars (which generally COSTS me money unfortunately).

My other vehicle projects are a 1968 Datsun Roadster (currently wrecked...long story but I walked away!) a 1930 Model A Ford that i inherited from my grandfather and a 1976 BMW R90/6 motorcycle that I restored a number of years ago. I also have a number of BMW projects, mostly from the 80s-early 2000s.

Oh yeah, I'm also a dual citizen of Ireland, although I've never actually been there.

That's me in a nutshell!
guyatou
New-tral

PostPost by: The Veg » Fri Jul 21, 2023 2:34 am

Welcome Michael!

I think you'll have a lot of fun with the Lotus- they're fantastic cars! Post some pics when you can.

BTW I'm a BMW motorcycle enthusiast too, although I don't have anything as old as a /6. I used to go to informal 'airhead' gatherings in eastern OK back when I lived in TexSux.
1970 Elan Plus 2 (not S) 50/2036
2012 BMW R1200GS
"It just wouldn't be a complete day if I didn't forget something!" -Me
The Veg
Coveted Fifth Gear
Coveted Fifth Gear

PostPost by: StressCraxx » Fri Jul 21, 2023 4:16 am