Complete Newbie

PostPost by: Guyver » Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:05 pm

Dear all,

Firstly I like to mention I am a complete newbie to this forum, so not sure as to protocols (if any). I am 23 year old Masters Student at York University and am very interested in owning a classic Elan +2 as an everyday (but limited mileage) car.

I currently own a 1982 Austin Metro with about 22k on the clock (yes really! :D) and am approaching full no claims bonus. To be honest the metro is a tad boring and have been hanging on to because it makes financial sense to do so. I am fast approaching the end of my course and to celebrate I?m considering purchasing an Elan +2 for the summer months and beyond.

I have a few things I would like to clear up before these considerations become more concrete and was wondering if you could possibly help me out with them?

Clearly the Elan +2 is approaching 30 years +, Like my metro it possibly runs on the now defunct Leaded fuel, is it possible to convert the car to run on standard fuel, and if so what kinds of prices are we looking at?.

Being 23 insurance companies feel I?m going to hit 6 very expensive Bentleys and then crash through a china shop on the way to collect fish and chips. Is it really viable to expect insurance to reasonably insure me in a car with such a prestigious badge ?

On average how reliable would an Elan +2 be? I am aware it depends on how it has been treated but are there some major inherent design flaws which could really mess things up?

All cars will eventually need bits replacing, how easy is it to find replacement parts, or parts which can be substituted (for some reason Rover bits pops into my head here)?

And finally, and perhaps should have been the first question, how easy would it be to find a working one and what would be the average price for a rather well cared for one.

Thank you for your consideration and Looking forward to your reply,

Guyver. :)
Guyver
New-tral

PostPost by: daves56 » Fri Mar 18, 2005 4:10 pm