Best way to store car over winter?

PostPost by: richardf » Sat Nov 26, 2005 1:43 pm

Help,

I'm new to classic lotus's (or should that be loti?). Got my Elan +2s/130 about a month ago (fantastic looking & handling car), and am wondering if it is worth running over winter or should I store it in the garage?

If I store it what is the best procedure for doing it?

Sorry about all the questions.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Richard
richardf
New-tral

PostPost by: jcocking » Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:16 pm

It is always better to run a car if the conditions allow it. Cars detoriate if they sit for any period of time. A member of the Lotus community wrote a very nice winterize check list. It can be found at http://www.lotuselan.net/uploads/elan_winter_checks.pdf

jeff
Jeff Cocking
LotusElan.net
jcocking
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: Si_130/5 » Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:35 pm

Hi Richard,

In addition to all the useful advice in that link I recommend you NEVER use a car cover. Don't keep your pride and joy in a damp garage and ensure there is good ventilation by keeping a window open. Failure to observe this rule could lead to the paintwork micro-blistering and the price of rectification is horrific, usually far exceeding the value of the car.

Hope this saves your paintwork,

Very best wishes,

Si
Si_130/5
Second Gear
Second Gear

PostPost by: gav » Sat Nov 26, 2005 8:02 pm

Si

Please excuse my ignorance but what do breathable car covers do to bodywork? I've never come across problems before.

Thanks
Gavin
gav
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: bengalcharlie » Sat Nov 26, 2005 8:45 pm

You could consider putting silicone brake fluid in the car, it allows the car to sit for years without seizing up the brakes.
You could also use this for the clutch

cheers

Robin

69 50/2390
bengalcharlie
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: Si_130/5 » Sat Nov 26, 2005 8:47 pm

Hi Gavin,