Muffler- Standard Bore 1-5/8" or Large Bore 2"?

PostPost by: Mhlaitner » Thu Mar 21, 2024 8:10 pm

Hello Everybody! First time posting here.

I am almost done with a resurrection of my 71 Elan Plus 2. It was my late father's that sat garaged for 25+ years. At the time it went into the garage because it needed new brake servos and water pump. I am a novice when it comes to wrenching on cars and l don't have a ton of free time, so opted to find a reputable shop in my area, Kansas City, to basically rebuild the car to road worthiness so I can enjoy as I wish my father had. I will likely post in the restoration section detailing everything I've had done shortly. I had the absolute joy of hearing the motor start and run yesterday and we are getting to the final stages of having it back on the road. I am looking at either getting the Standard bore muffler or the "High Performance" large bore muffler from r.d. I was hoping somebody out there has any experience with either of these mufflers on their plus 2? Does the large bore really produce much more power? Or is it really just a different sound? Any feedback is much appreciated and I can't wait to live out my childhood dream of getting to drive and enjoy the car.

Max
Mhlaitner
New-tral

PostPost by: seniorchristo » Thu Mar 21, 2024 10:05 pm

Hi Mhlaitner

I am facing a similar decision for my Plus 2. I don't think the large bore muffler will make much difference in power, especially if you have not modified the engine for more performance. It will however probably be louder. Unfortunately there is no easy way to compare :( .
67 Elan Super Safety
67 Elan +2
seniorchristo
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: Mhlaitner » Thu Mar 21, 2024 10:18 pm

Honestly for the price on the large bore I don't think it's probably worth it. Plus it may cause the low end to suffer without as much back pressure. I'm leaning towards standard.
Mhlaitner
New-tral

PostPost by: StressCraxx » Thu Mar 21, 2024 10:37 pm