Worn out rear drive shaft?

PostPost by: richardhallett99 » Thu Aug 25, 2005 9:51 pm

Hello all

I have just spent yet another small fortune on my 71 + 2S130 4. I have just had her serviced (as I do every six months), had some suspension arms replaced, had a few switches fixed and been given an MOT.

The mechanic pointed out that the sharp cracking noise that I keep hearing when I change gear is not just the fibre glass body twisting as I have been told in the past. It is in fact worn out splines on the rear drive shaft! I am no mechanic so apologies if I have made a mistake with the terms.

Has anyone heard of this?

Is it going to another massively expensive repair? The mechanic said that it was fine to keep driving it till it breaks and that the action of it actually breaking would not damage the car further. Naturally - I have no intention of doing this as clearly it is not a good idea - but is this true?

Where am I going to get a new part from & how much is it?

Lots of questions and doubtless lots of money. While the "lots of trouble- etc" expression is coming true for me - I have no intention of giving up! those sunny days on country roads are worth every penny.

All help and advice gratefully received.

Rich
richardhallett99
First Gear
First Gear

PostPost by: chrishewett » Thu Aug 25, 2005 10:30 pm

I think you need a new mechanic.
Chris
chrishewett
Third Gear
Third Gear

PostPost by: berni29 » Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:52 am

Hi

I will second that. I am not saying that I know what the noise is, but I am pretty sure that it is not that!

All the best
Zetec+ 2 under const, also 130S. And another 130S for complete restoration. Previously Racing green +2s with green tints. Yellow +2 and a couple of others, all missed. Great to be back 04/11/2021 although its all starting to get a bit out of control.
berni29
Fourth Gear
Fourth Gear

PostPost by: Dag-Henning » Fri Aug 26, 2005 7:08 am